## ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001.

F.No. 56/Symbol/LET/FUNC/PP/PPS-II/2016/Vol. XVI

Dated: 31st October, 2016

To

The Chief Electoral Officers of,

- (i) Punjab, Chandigarh.
- (ii) Goa, Panaji.
- (iii) Uttarakhand, Dehradun.

Sub: - General Elections to the <u>Legislative Assemblies of Punjab and Uttarakhand, 2017</u>-Concession to candidates set up by registered unrecognized political parties- allotment of common symbol under Para 10B of the Election Symbols (Reservation and Allotment) Order, 1968- Regarding.

Sir,

I am directed to state that the application of the following 4 (Four) registered unrecognized political parties for concession in the allotment of a common symbol to its candidates being set up at the forthcoming General Election to the Legislative Assemblies of Punjab and Uttarakhand, 2017 under the provisions of para 10B of the Election Symbols (Reservation and Allotment) Order, 1968, have been accepted by the Commission. Accordingly, the Commission has decided to extend the concession sought under Para 10B to candidates of these parties for the forthcoming General Election to Legislative Assemblies of Punjab and Uttarakhand, 2017, in the constituencies mentioned as under: -

Sl. No.	Name of the Party	Name of Election(s)	No. of Assembly constituencies	Common Symbol allotted.
1.	Democratic Party of India (Ambedkar)	Legislative Assembly of Punjab, 2017.	In all the 117 Assembly Constituencies in the State of <b>Punjab</b> .	Sewing Machine
2.	Jai Jawan Jai Kisan Party	Legislative Assembly of Punjab, 2017.	In all the 117 Assembly Constituencies in the State of <b>Punjab</b> .	Scissors
3.	Democratic Bharatiya Samaj Party	Legislative Assembly of Punjab, 2017.	In all the 117 Assembly Constituencies in the State of <b>Punjab</b> .	Television

4.	Lok Gathbandhan Party	Legislative Assembly of Goa, 2017.	Constituencies in the State	
		Legislative Assembly of Punjab, 2017.	of <u>Goa.</u> In all the 117 Assembly	D:
		of Funjab, 2017.	Constituencies in the State of <b>Punjab</b> .	Ring
		Legislative Assembly	In all the 70 Assembly	
		of Uttarakhand, 2017.	Constituencies in the State	
			of <u>Uttarakhand</u> .	
-	Bharat Lok	Legislative Assembly	In all the 117 Assembly	
5.	Sewak Party	of Punjab, 2017.	Constituencies in the State	Electric Pole
			of <b>Punjab.</b>	

- 2. The Returning Officers may be directed to allot the common symbol mentioned above to the candidates set up by the aforesaid registered un-recognised political parties, subject to fulfillment of the provisions of Para 13 of the Election Symbols (Reservation and Allotment) Order, 1968 relating to setting up of candidates by the party. It may also be noted that said common symbol allotted to the candidates of the above mentioned political parties, is not allotted by oversight to any other candidates in these constituencies. However, the said symbol shall be available for allotment as free symbol to other candidates in the constituencies where the aforesaid parties do not actually set up their candidates.
- 3. In the event of the above said parties failing to meet the requirement of the minimum number of candidates, as prescribed in Para 10B of the said Symbols Order, 1968, i.e., 5.% of total number of <u>Assembly Constituencies</u> in the concerned State in case of Assembly election, then the said common symbol shall not be available to their candidates.

Yours faithfully,

/ ....landandan

(VARINDER KUMAR) PR. SECRETARY

## Copy to: -

SI. No.	Name of the Party	Instructions
1.	The President, Democratic Party of India (Ambedkar), MohallaTajPura, Rahon, Teshsil - Nawanshahr, S.B.S. Nagar, Punjab – 144517.	It is informed that the party and the candidates must comply with each of the provisions of Para 13 of the

2.	The President, Jai Jawan Jai Kisan Party, First Floor, H. No. – 60, Street No.7, Virk Colony, Near DCW, Patiala, Punjab - 147001.	Election Symbols (Reservation and Allotment) Order, 1968.
3.	The President, Democratic Bharatiya Samaj Party, Gali No-7, Guru Nanak Pura(East), Near Chintpurni Mandir, Jalandhar, Punjab.	
4.	The President, Lok Gathbandhan Party, B-16-A, Consisting Super Area, Lower Ground Floor (Basement) of Alisha Apartment, Madan Mohan Malviya Marg, Near Krishi Bhawan, 3 Way Road, Lucknow – 226001, Uttar Pradesh.	
-5.	The President, Bharat Lok Sewak Party, Shop No. 16, D-Block Market, Pushpanjali Enclave, Pitampura, New Delhi- 110034.	

- Pr. Secy. (BJ)/Secy. (AK)/Sr. Pr. Secy. (RKS). North-I/ West-II/North-II. Guard File. 2.
- 3.
- 4.